In Honor of Pride Month: This Christian Ally’s Credo

Coloful Jesus fish logo
The symbol of the Christian fish in a rainbow of lovely colors.

Dear Friends,

As you’ve likely figured out by now, I am a practicing (as in, “I’m workin’ at it, y’all, and am by no means perfect at it yet”) Christian. As someone who has professed for over forty years a deep and abiding love for God Our Creator, I believe that every single human life is created in God’s perfect image, and regardless of religion, ethnicity, gender, or sexual orientation, is precious and worthy of dignity and respect as such. I also believe in the fundamental goodness of all humans’ sexuality, as it is a God-given gift.

I believe the Church’s mission should be to share Christ’s light and love with all people and for all people. “And he said to them, ‘Go into all the world and proclaim the good news to the whole creation.'” (Mark 15:16) There is no disclaimer to His “whole creation;” therefore, those who would scorn some of God’s children make a mockery of Agape. Discrimination is anathema to His godly compassion. “Indeed, God did not send the Son into the world to condemn the world, but in order that the world might be saved through Him.” (John 3:17)

I firmly believe that all of God’s children have a unique purpose and position in God’s Kingdom and that all individuals within the Body of Christ need one another, can learn from one another’s strengths, and should respond to one another’s needs. “The eye cannot say to the hand, ‘I have no need of you,’ nor again the head to the feet, ‘I have no need of you.’” (1 Cor. 12:21)

Having family members and friends themselves active in the LGBTQ community, I have striven to be inclusive and affirming for as long as I can remember; and, I actually began my journey into sexual health education as a student liaison for the South Plains AIDS Resource Center (SPARC) in 1990. My training in advanced sexuality and pleasure education is from the Institute for Sexuality Education and Enlightenment, which is LGBT-friendly and offers a holistic model of sex education, and I have participated in training with the Safe Zone Project. And, Lord willin’, I will be completing my training with the Incarnation Institute of Sex and Faith this year. I invite folks to hold me accountable to my credo.

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that you may abound in hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” Romans 15:13
CLC Signature

Published by Micki Allen

Relentlessly compassionate human being and fiercely loyal wife of one and "mom of many" abiding in Texas. Certified Life Coach, Intimacy and Relationship Coach, and Adult Sex Educator.